ASLA 2011 Awards Competition Open (Dec. 8)

WASHINGTON – It’s time to start thinking about submitting entries for the American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) 2011 awards.

ASLA released its 2011 professional and student awards call for entries earlier this month – and the first deadlines are only 11 weeks away.

The awards program, for ASLA members or membership-eligible professionals, features six categories: General Design; Residential Design; Analysis and Planning; Research, co-sponsored by the Council of Educators in Landscape Architecture; Communications; and The Landmark Award, co-sponsored by the National Trust for Historic Preservation (NTHP).

logoGrey_166wThe student awards program also features the Student Community Service Award and Student Collaboration categories.

Award recipients, their clients, and student advisors will be honored at the awards presentation ceremony during the 2011 ASLA Annual Meeting and EXPO in San Diego on Oct. 30-Nov. 2.

Entrants receiving Honor Awards or Awards of Excellence in the Student Awards Program will receive a complimentary full registration to the 2011 ASLA Annual Meeting and EXPO ($290 value). Official entrants receiving an Award of Excellence in the Student Awards Program will also receive travel and hotel accommodations for the meeting ($1,000+ value).

The award winning projects will be featured in a video presentation at the ceremony and on the awards website following the event.

Members of the professional awards jury are:

• David Yocca, FASLA, Jury Chair, Conservation Design Forum, Elmhurst, Ill.;
• Robert Campbell, FAIA, Boston Globe, Boston;
• Mark Hough, ASLA, Duke University, Durham, N.C.;
• Ilze Jones, FASLA, Jones & Jones Architects and Landscape Architects Ltd., Seattle;
• Elizabeth Meyer, FASLA, University of Virginia, Charlottesville, Va.;
• Laurie Olin, FASLA, OLIN, Philadelphia;
• Pamela Palmer, ASLA, ARTECHO, Venice, Calif.;
• Christine Ten Eyck, FASLA, Ten Eyck Landscape Architects, Phoenix;
• Alex Washburn, AIA, Chief Urban Designer, Department of City Planning, New York; and
• William H. Tishler, FASLA, University of Wisconsin, Madison Wis. (additional judge for The Landmark Award).

Members of the student awards jury, convening next June, includes:

• Mario Nievera, ASLA, Jury Chair, Mario Nievera Design, Palm Beach, Fla., and New York;
• Thomas Balsley, FASLA, Thomas Balsley Associates, New York;
• Gary A. Brown, FASLA, University of Wisconsin, Madison, Wis.;
• James Burnett, FASLA, The Office of James Burnett, Houston;
• Shane Coen, ASLA, Coen+Partners, Minneapolis;
• Diane Dale, FASLA, William McDonough + Partners, Charlottesville, Va,;
• M. Elen Deming, ASLA, University of Illinois, Champaign, Ill.;
• John King, Hon. ASLA, San Francisco Chronicle, San Francisco; and
• Karen Phillips, FASLA, City Planning Commission, New York

Entry forms and payment must be received by Feb. 25 for the professional awards, and May 6 for the student competition. Submission-binder deadlines are March 11 for the professional awards and May 20 for the students.

For more information, contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it., ASLA Honors and Awards Coordinator, at 202-216-2331

Get the best in insightful and informed coverage with every issue of Architectural Stone & Landscape Design magazine. Sign up for a free subscription (or renew your current account) and don’t miss a single issue – just click here.